Hello world! I am Fannie Cranium.

Many years before interventions became popular, my inner circle of friends stepped in and imposed a much needed humor intervention for me.

Just before the intervention a young man gave me a button saying, “You are perverted, twisted and sick, I like that in a person”.

My sense of humor exceeded warped and no one but my family understood it. It makes sense; they taught it to me. For example, my father taught me to say and spell antidisestablishmentarianism at the age of four so I could amaze his friends.

My roommate lead the way. She cornered me one afternoon.

“Fannie,” she said, “you are not funny at all! You are the only one who laughs at your own jokes and no one in the room is even on the same planet with you to understand what you are talking about. So here is what we are going to do, I’ve enlisted the help of the rest of our group. We decided, it’s in your own best interest that you are only allowed to be funny once per month. So don’t waste it.”

I stood there dumbfounded for at least two full minutes, even a pregnant pause would give birth in that amount of time. What could I say? After she delivered the verdict, the rest of the group filed into the room for moral support.

I became self-conscious of whatever I said. I knew everyone listened. I paid attention to what everyone else said, and what they talked and laughed about. Talk about your eye opening experience.

I waited until the end of each month for my moment of spontaneous humor. The interesting side effect from the whole affair, I went from an “acquired taste” to someone people enjoyed spending time around.

Imagine my surprise at the end of the year when a new acquaintance said, “You know, Fannie, you are one of the funniest people I ever met.”

To those of you, who find yourself an acquired taste for one reason or another, remember intervention is not a four-letter word, it’s a four-syllable word. Oh sorry, the old sense of humor sneaking out.

I would like to send out this salute to the members of my inner circle for their solidarity, intervention, dedication and sense of comedic timing.

About Fannie Cranium

Writing since she could first hold a pen, Tracy Perkins formed her alter ego, "Fannie Cranium" at the suggestion of her husband. Tracy understands smiling makes people wonder what she’s been up to.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello world! I am Fannie Cranium.

  1. aplscruf says:

    Congratulations, Fannie, and welcome to the world of blogging!
    Curious to know if there was a 12-step program that followed the intervention…
    Can’t wait to read more!
    L

    Like

  2. Karen Munger says:

    This is true, I was there, I was the instigator of the intervention…
    Glad to see it stuck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

