A Special Edition: Pump Up The Volume-Old School Style

Today’s special edition is dedicated to Liz over at Food For Fun. And not because she served BOURBON CHOCOLATE CAKE last week. Like Dave said in the comments, I wanted to eat the screen.

The reason Liz is the subject of this special edition, she commented last week, “. . .though I will say that you’ve replaced all those wonderful old-school earworms with the grizzly image of Fannie’s dad in a red speedo. With a tool belt. Star Wars will never be the same!”

I spent the weekend contemplating what had the strength of Star Wars but implied happy thoughts. For a brief moment I considered Sesame Street.

But like Dr. Sheldon Cooper, I erased my imaginary wipe board. So now my conundrum, what to play?

A long forgotten memory from the ghosts of boyfriends past pushed its way to the forefront based on another of Liz’s comments elsewhere. The wrong one got away. For good reason. He was a nice computer geek who dreamed of becoming the next Vanilla Ice. Every Sunday evening we listened to a radio program called “Rap Attacks” on KCMU, a Seattle radio station.

The hosts were DJ Shockmaster Glen Boyd and DJ Nasty Nes (Nes Rodriguez). They were at the forefront of Seattle’s rap music scene at a time when Seattle was all about the grunge. The one that got away wanted to meet these two desperately. I don’t know if he ever did.

After my husband and I got married, who should move to the apartment next door but an unassuming neighbor named Glen Boyd. Yes, that Glen Boyd. I didn’t figure it out until he hung his gold records on the wall of his living room.

Glen fell on the floor when he found out I was a fan. My I-can’t-rap-to-save-my-life rendition of “Posse On Broadway” pushed him over the edge. Let’s face it, I’m not your typical demographic for a rap fan.

A revelation gobsmacked me. Go the opposite direction. In a naughty but nice sort of way.

So Liz, while this may not go well with poptails or Friday cocktails, perhaps this will remove the Speedo from your memory.  It has the bonus of being a “non-Star Wars space theme” and debuted in the Eighties.

So here is M|A|R|R|S with Pump Up The Volume. Dancing optional. 😉

Glen—thanks for the inspiration.

About Fannie Cranium

Writing since she could first hold a pen, Tracy Perkins formed her alter ego, "Fannie Cranium" at the suggestion of her husband. Tracy understands smiling makes people wonder what she’s been up to.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Special Edition: Pump Up The Volume-Old School Style

  1. Liz says:

    Thank you, Tracy! You’ve made my day, heck my week 🙂 Red speedo with a toolbelt out, awesome late’80s/early ’90s rap song in. I too was a rap fan back in the day, also largely because of a guy I was dating (the one before the pompous a$$). Had MC Hammer’s cassette tape (!), loved de La Soul’s Me, Myself, and I (still do). Back to Life, Back to Reality. Ice Ice Baby.

    Love your tale of living next to a rap shockjock and “performing” for him. Would have loved to see that. We could even do a duet, though would make a few cocktails as we might need those to make it happen 😉

    Did you know that I LOVE Pump up the Volume so much that I have it on my phone? Couldn’t have picked a better earworm. Appreciate the effort you went to to help me out here. Sesame Street would’ve worked, but the song and video clip is so much better! You’re a true friend 🙂

    Like

    • I had no idea! That is too funny in an “It’s a Small World” universe.

      Talk about a walk down memory lane. I remember all of those.

      Glen was a great neighbor and had a good sense of humor (otherwise, I might have had to call 9-1-1 after my rendition).

      The fact that you have “Pump up the Volume” on your phone is awesome! You just made my week!

      Like

  2. amb says:

    I have been meaning to comment on this post all day, but work keeps getting in the way of all my fun! It’s officially after 5pm here now though, so I’m off the clock 🙂 This was such a fun post! Loving the whole “naughty but nice” vibe you’ve got going on 😉

    Like

  3. aplscruf says:

    I had NO IDEA, Ms. T! What other naughty/nice secrets will unfold here in the future, I wonder??!!
    Also, Sir Mix-A-Lot is playing Seattle on November 2! I believe at Neumos on Capitol Hill. Opening will be Ayron Jones and The Way, and amazing blues guitarist. My former editor is his manager now!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

