A Special Edition: Claire De Lune

If I hadn’t traveled to Canada on a moment’s notice last week and discovered Fanny Bay on Vancouver Island’s Caribou Coast.

Canada,Fanny Bay,Carribou Coast,travel

How could I resist the Fanny Bay inn?

Fanny Bay,seals,wildlife

Even the seals hang out at Fanny Bay.

If we hadn’t taken a trip to Mount Rainier National Park on Saturday.

Mount Rainier as seen from the Paradise parking lot.

Mount Rainier as seen from the Paradise parking lot.

Mount Rainier National Park,Mt Rainier,Paradise,travel,national park

Welcome to Paradise. No really, that’s the name of this place.

Mt. Rainier,Mount Rainier,Rainier,Paradise,Longmire

The road from Paradise to Longmire.

If the Seattle Seahawks hadn’t won the Superbowl on Sunday.

If Monday morning, we hadn’t received a call that not only our expected guest but two more unexpected guests were to arrive in the afternoon and be staying through Thursday.

If over 700,000 plus enthusiastic Seahawks fans hadn’t attempted to travel to downtown Seattle for the victory parade, immobilizing and overwhelming all modes of transportation in the region on Wednesday.

Then I wouldn’t have felt compelled to get up at 3:30 a.m. this morning to write a special edition to explain why I couldn’t write a story, and honor Anton Chekhov when he said, “Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of the light on the broken glass.”

While I was composing this, I was listening to this music posted by a fellow blogging buddy from the Blog of Funny Names. I’d like to thank What Do You Do For an Encore for the beautiful music.

And leave you with what I’ve been listening to each morning this week to get prepped for the day. Arthur Fiedler and the Boston Pops playing Claire De Lune and other assorted medleys. Take it away Arthur.

Have a wonderful weekend.

Who knows, maybe next week, I’ll take Bunny with me on an adventure.

If . . . .

About Fannie Cranium

Writing since she could first hold a pen, Tracy Perkins formed her alter ego, "Fannie Cranium" at the suggestion of her husband. Tracy understands smiling makes people wonder what she’s been up to.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Special Edition: Claire De Lune

  1. wdydfae says:

    Thanks for the shout out, Fannie! A beautiful post and visual selection, and a beautiful site!

    Like

  2. Liz says:

    love me some claire de lune 🙂 We spelled her name differently (without an i, sort of like Anne’s “with an e”), but our Clare heard this song a gajillion times when she was a babe. Great lullaby music. Am listening to it now, and think I’ll just close my eyes for a second… z z z z z z z z z z z z z z z 😀

    Sounds like a busy week! Gorgeous pictures and yay, Seahawks! (Wanted Denver to pull it off, but wasn’t going to happen. Well deserved win.)

    Like

    • I love that your Clare is without the i. It keeps the whole Anne theme going this morning from your post over at Food for Fun.

      Glad you enjoyed the music. I’m sorry about your disappointment over Denver’s loss, but it was very exciting from our perspective.

      Like

  3. Ursula says:

    As they say a picture is worth a thousand words and glimpses into other peoples lives are always interesting. Hope you had fun, it looked beautiful. Go Hawks!!

    Like

  4. aplscruf says:

    Alright, I admit I’m behind and I’m just now reading this. Aww, T! I love that you found Fanny Bay! And Mt. Rainier…I didn’t even think you could drive up there this time of year! How gorgeous! What are you guys, honeymooners again?? I love it. You’re getting out and enjoying life. AND taking in extra guests. Why not?

    Like

    • I guess this is my way of dealing with being an “empty-nester”.

      I don’t know if you’ve ever ridden the WSF ferry The Rhododendron, but we found it parked in Fanny Bay being used as a barge of all things.

      Regarding Mt. Rainier, you can’t always get to the top this time of year, but we arrived at the park right after they lifted the chain restriction.

      Like

Leave a Reply

