A Special Edition: Contest Interrupt-Us

Welcome to another week without a visit from Bunny and the gang. We’re interrupting our regularly scheduled post to bring you this:

I made a promise to myself to enter a minimum of five literary contests this year. Sometime today the post office will receive offering #3.

Because I’ve spent so much time with each of the stories, it feels like I’m taking my child to the first day of kindergarten when I deliver them to the post office. Anxiety, excitement, jitters—an emotional experience.

As is the case with most writing contests, the results are usually months away . . . .

At this point, I have no expectation of winning, the competition is strong. But I love receiving the critiques to see where the holes in my story telling are hiding. I’m too close to see it for myself.

As I audition each and every word on the page, I’m reminded of the quote:

“It could be that there’s only one word and it’s all we need. It’s here in this pencil. Every pencil in the world is like this.” ~W.S. Merwin, American poet.

But I can tell you the word it won’t be: Pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis. My lead would break.

So here’s to our pencils, our words, from which thoughts are born and shared.

Since this is a special edition, what would it be without a little music. If words were music,  this piece speaks volumes. The Imperial March (Darth Vader’s Theme) performed by the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra: light saber included free of charge.

Until next week.

Ciao,

Fannie

About Fannie Cranium

Writing since she could first hold a pen, Tracy Perkins formed her alter ego, "Fannie Cranium" at the suggestion of her husband. Tracy understands smiling makes people wonder what she’s been up to.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Special Edition: Contest Interrupt-Us

  1. amb says:

    I love this quote!! And I love your attitude about receiving feedback about your writing. So much awesomeness in this post 🙂

    Like

  2. Liz says:

    love it, Fannie–fantastic post! (great music, too 🙂 ) Had no idea you were putting yourself out there by entering contests (now who’s following Emerson’s words?). Wishing you all the luck in the world and also sending kudos for wanting to learn from their critiques. Thinking I would dread that part.

    And yes to the quote. That will be the motto of the Word Nerd club we eventually form. Meetings can be held before Night Owl club, since I know you like to go to bed earlier 😉

    Like

    • Liz–I like the way you think! Word Nerd Club it is. 😉

      Regarding the contests, I read Emerson’s words, “Always do what you’re afraid to do,” before I mail each submission. 🙂

      Like

  3. LFFL says:

    Well good wishes to you, Fannie!! How exciting for you to get to enter these.

    Like

  4. Pingback: A Writing Contest Update | Fannie Cranium's

Leave a Reply

