A Special Edition: The Thanksgiving Gift

It’s tradition in our household, the three days following Thanksgiving involve lots of Christmas music, hanging the garland, the major production preparing our Christmas cards, calendars for customers, letters to family and friends, and watching White Christmas.

The Wednesday before Thanksgiving, one of my husband’s siblings contacted us. We have not spent any quality time together in a number of years—she lives 1,500 miles away. She could stay the weekend with us.

Can you say, EXCITED!

We u-turned our plans. We visited old stomping grounds. We stayed up way passed our bedtime every night until our voices mimicked frogs croaking. Got up early each morning. Then used coffee for our caffeine delivery system. And started all over again.

And like Cinderella and the pumpkin at midnight, Sunday arrived too soon.

I make no excuses. Our cards and letters will be late this year.

Have a wonderful holiday season.

May your holiday season feel as joyous!

As with all special editions, let’s end this one with a walk down memory lane. Home Alone and “Christmas is Here”. Take it away Macauley . . .

Until next week.

Ciao,

Fannie

About Fannie Cranium

Writing since she could first hold a pen, Tracy Perkins formed her alter ego, "Fannie Cranium" at the suggestion of her husband. Tracy understands smiling makes people wonder what she’s been up to.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Special Edition: The Thanksgiving Gift

  1. Liz says:

    your cards will be late because you didn’t write them this weekend, Fannie? Wow–you have high standards. If mine aren’t out by Feb, then I finally throw in the towel for the year. Plenty of time. So glad you had fun with an old friend. People and experiences always come first! Love your enthusiasm and holiday spirit. I tend to get very bah-humbug this time of year. Too much to do and I eat too many cookies 😉

    Like

    • LOL Liz! I like the way you think–New Year’s cards would take the pressure off for sure.

      I know what you mean about taking on too many things this time of year. And if you feel you eaten too many cookies, I’ll enjoy some vicariously through you!

      Happy Holidays!

      Like

  2. markbialczak says:

    Family fun first, and long overdue, Fannie. Way to go. Croak until the caffeine hits ‘ya. Now that’s the way to do it. I don’t even send out cards. I think my friends forgive me. Or have disowned me. They know I love ’em. I hope. I try to be helpful and in good-friend-zone no matter the the season.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hear, hear, Mark. I doubt too many people have disowned you.

      The caffeine hangover was SO worth it. I cherished the quality time, even if it was for the briefest of moments. It creates the best memories!

      Like your writing prof staying in touch via snail mail. Good times. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

