The Unexpected Consequence of Thank You

A one-hundred-year-old rectangular brick building once housed a feed store in downtown Puyallup, Washington. Purchased by Shaun Brobak. He converted it into an upscale pub called Crockett’s Public House.

If you’re a fan of the Food Network, you may have seen it on “Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives”.

We didn’t “discover it” until out of town guests found it on Urban Spoon. Go figure.

Four gentlemen from one of the companies we work with joined us for dinner after an extended day of product installation and demonstration.

The volume in the restaurant rose with the number of patrons enjoying their beverages and meals.

After a couple of round, discussing the ups and downs of the day, the gentleman sitting on my left said, “The thank you note you sent me was the highlight of the last five years of my career.”

After the razzing quieted down from the other members of our table. He stood by his words. He said, “I’ve got it hanging in my cubicle and look at it every day.”

My better half, seated on my right, patted me on the back when I choked up.

Who would expect three short sentences of gratitude written in 2011 to create such an impact?

It reminded me sometimes I get busy and don’t let other know how much I appreciate what they do for me. Knowing my note made someone’s day inspires me to write more.

Thank you Crockett’s Public House for providing the place for my epiphany.

About Fannie Cranium

Writing since she could first hold a pen, Tracy Perkins formed her alter ego, "Fannie Cranium" at the suggestion of her husband. Tracy understands smiling makes people wonder what she’s been up to.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Unexpected Consequence of Thank You

  1. kerbey says:

    You must have a way with thank you notes. I hope you ordered the green chili cheeseburger.

    Like

    • All I said was “Thank You” and two more lines regarding what I was thanking him for. That’s why I was so surprised.

      Regarding what we ate, I have to confess, I went for the sirloin, and my better half ate “The Dude”. It was massive! We enjoyed left overs the next day, cause we couldn’t eat the whole thing in one sitting. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. markbialczak says:

    Thank you for reminding me that good deeds do go noticed, Tracy. This is a great tale of how sometimes it only takes a little effort to stand out from the bunch.

    OK, now I want a sirloin. Or “The Dude.” My dear wife Karen brought home supermarket-ready salads for dinner because it almost hit 90 today. My chef’s had turkey and ham, sure, but still … What was “The Dude,” anyway? A big burger?

    Like

    • First of all, you have my deepest sympathy for 90 degrees. Just typing it makes me want to melt. But your salad sounds delicious!

      The Dude was a steak: 16 oz. rib eye, steakhouse seasoning, herbed butter, double strength jus and Yukon golds.

      They also have great burgers, too!

      Like

  3. aplscruf says:

    I love your thank-you notes, T! And the caricatures of you and D on the front always make me smile. I think thank-you notes–and cards in general are a dying breed, I’m afraid. But thanks for the reminder. Thank the ones that should be thanked!
    And The Dude…did it come with its own rug to go under the table? “That rug really tied the room together!” –The Dude from “The Big Lebowski”

    Like

Leave a Reply

