A Special Edition—The Dog Didn’t Eat My Homework, But the Cat May Have Licked It

Sometimes stuff happens. The out of control stuff. Like the dream you’re in school, but you’re naked. Or you have a big assignment and the dog eats it, or the cat pees on it. Or you spill your coffee down your front before a big meeting.

None of those things have happened recently. Yet this month, my work life insists on taking up all my free time. Not leaving enough time for the fun stuff like blogging.

So let’s take a different approach for the next few weeks until I can get my projects under wraps or gift wrapped or plain wrapped.

I’m going to cheat with short special editions until the work load clears and I can free my inner Fannie.

Delicious, eh?

Meet Chester, Graveyard Chicken.

This fine fellow wouldn't hurt a soul, unless they hurt him first. . .

This fine fellow wouldn’t hurt a soul, unless they hurt him first.

He appeared on one of my Halloween tombstones this year. I felt I owed it to him since I used him as a device in one of my stories to kill the bad guy. Death by chicken.

Then the Book Doctor told me I had to nix him. Death by Book Doctor.

Chester needed a place to land. In the graveyard, on a tombstone, with a candle. Oh wait, that’s death by Clue.

Someday, I hope to resurrect him in another story where he exacts his revenge. Perhaps we’ll find out his favorite movie is Alfred Hitchcock’s “The Birds”. Until then, he has a place to roost here, where the dog didn’t eat my homework, but the cat may have licked it.

If cheaters never prosper, why am I smiling?

Until next week.

Ciao,

Fannie

About Fannie Cranium

Writing since she could first hold a pen, Tracy Perkins formed her alter ego, "Fannie Cranium" at the suggestion of her husband. Tracy understands smiling makes people wonder what she’s been up to.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Special Edition—The Dog Didn’t Eat My Homework, But the Cat May Have Licked It

  1. lexy3587 says:

    Death by chicken 🙂 I love your long stories, but I don’t think you’ll get any complaints for your short pieces if they’re like this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kerbey says:

    He has an Elvis pompadour. I hope he doesn’t get bird flu.

    Like

Leave a Reply

