A Special Edition—One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

GalileoMy uncle is coming to the close of his life. In and out of the hospital, experiencing a part of life he never imagined. Taking him to cancer treatments. Watching him struggle to breathe.

Monday, he asked me why I was helping him, what’s in it for me?

I said, “Making memories together.”

Many of my family members suffered with dementia, are still suffering. What is really important to me are the memories. The funny mistakes, the oops. Laughing so hard we snort beverages out our noses.

The good memories stay, the bad ones drift away.

My own father is disappearing through Alzheimer’s Disease. He no longer remembers my sisters or me, but he can still repeat his favorite stanza of a nursery rhyme.

“Wire, briar, limberlock
Three geese in a flock
One flew east,
One flew west,
One flew over the cuckoo’s nest”

The last line becoming the title of the book and movie, “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.”

A fitting rhyme for someone with Alzheimer’s Disease.

When my father leaves our family, his not remembering me will fade. What remains: Blowing bubbles in our milkshakes, fishing on the open ocean and puking up our lunches—and reciting nursery rhymes.

At the end of of your life, what will you remember? Will you remember the things that made you laugh? Will you remember the things that made you cry? Will you remember the ones you love? Will you look back with regret, with pride, with joy?

What will you find within yourself?

“Wire, briar, limberlock
Three geese in a flock
One flew east,
One flew west,
One flew over the cuckoo’s nest”

About Fannie Cranium

Writing since she could first hold a pen, Tracy Perkins formed her alter ego, "Fannie Cranium" at the suggestion of her husband. Tracy understands smiling makes people wonder what she’s been up to.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Special Edition—One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

  1. kerbey says:

    Oh, Fannie/Tracy, that’s a great post. I had no idea that’s where the title of the movie came from. I hope you keep snorting out beverages. I hope to look back with joy. All the dozens of photo albums and scrapbooks I make–hopefully, they reflect mostly happy moments. But we can’t know joy if we don’t know sadness. There’s the rub.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Vikki Perkins says:

    That was powerful Tracy. Thank you for putting into words what many of us can’t. Love love. Vikki

    Liked by 2 people

  3. aplscruf says:

    This brought tears to my eyes this am, T. It’s all about balance, isn’t it. Humor is a good way to balance out the grief. Yes, let the good memories stick! You have my sympathy, T.

    Like

  4. Dave says:

    Such a great post. Making memories together is such a good way of putting it. Something I try to think about a lot. My heart is with you right now, Fannie, and those memories we build together are something we can leave behind and help make the world a better place. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

