Comicon Carry Over

A few weeks ago, a group of us took a foreign exchange student to Emerald City ComiCon (ECCC)—allowing us to cross it off our bucket list.

Seeing ComiCon through the eyes of a 15-year-old exchange student raised the event to another level.

My younger sibling, also a SciFi fan attended as a Dalek from Doctor Who. I’m the one in the orange wearing The Blerch shirt.  Over the course of the day she posed for over 70 photos with Doctor Who fans. Small children followed behind her chanting in mechanized tones, “Ex-term-i-nate.”

Posing with a Dalek outside ECCC registration.

Posing with a Dalek outside ECCC registration. Okay she’s really my sister.

I’ve only viewed a couple episodes of the Doctor, making it much more amusing for me.

The event staff wandered around the convention center with shirts saying “Minion”. One of the Minions presented my sister, the Dalek, with a Super Fan award for her costume. She was psyched.

A good costume is a terrible thing to waste.

Two weeks later, while still basking in the memories of our recent Comicon adventure, we celebrated Quiz night dressed in our costumes.

Even the Twinkies came dressed as “Minions,” and the water bottles wore capes.

Minions come in all shapes and flavors.

Minions come in all shapes and flavors.

I’m not sure how many of the “Minions” survived the evening . . .

 

About Fannie Cranium

Writing since she could first hold a pen, Tracy Perkins formed her alter ego, "Fannie Cranium" at the suggestion of her husband. Tracy understands smiling makes people wonder what she’s been up to.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Comicon Carry Over

  1. kerbey says:

    It pays to be a Super Fan.

    Like

  2. aplscruf says:

    Wow, what a fun experience! Next, Sakuracon! ha

    Like

    • First of all, welcome home!!!! Secondly, Sakuracon next March at the convention center could be fun.

      BTW Archie McPhees had a booth at Comicon. They featured the cat unicorn horn and wizard hat. I thought of you!

      Sadly, I had already purchased or been gifted almost every item in their booth or I would have added to my collection. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Liz says:

    Tell me more about this Blerch of which you write. ?? Love the dalek and what a fun day that must have been. Brilliant to turn the twinkies into minions. Always knew you were a smart one, Tracy.

    What’s new here? You are done with the Fannie series? Wishing you all the best with the Alzheimer’s health care book. What a project! Can’t imagine it’s easy to write.

    Like

    • The Blerch is the creation of Matthew Inman better known as “The Oatmeal”. He is also the artist for Exploding Kittens, which I believe Amb is a fan.

      The Blerch is the main character in “The Oatmeal’s comics, “The wonderful and terrible reasons why I run.”

      He sponsors a fun run near Seattle in September, it’s runs over a weekend each day hosting a full marathon, half marathon and 10K. There are colorful characters from his cartoons spread out along the coarse. At the halfway point they feed the runners cake, Nutella sandwiches, and purple drink. It’s probably the best run race I’ve ever participated in.

      I can’t take credit for the minions. It’s my friend Tricia’s brilliant idea.

      As far as the Fannie series, I’m not done, just on hiatus. I’m still working on my sample chapters for my Alzheimer’s book and it is taking longer than I expected, and I’ve hit a few road bumps with several of my elderly family members falling ill and needing my help.

      Like

Leave a Reply

