Conjoined Mushrooms Or Great Neighbors?

“Train yourself to let go of everything you fear to lose.” ~ Yoda

Our neighborhood is a mix of baby boomers and young families. We enjoy summer barbecues, block parties, and neighborhood watch. Neighbors chat in the street in the evening. Occasional turmoil occurs when someone cuts down a tree or parks an RV in the street.

The most exciting things on our street—naked squirrels running up trees or kids joy riding on scooters.

A week ago, moving vans parked in front of one of my longtime neighbors’ (twenty plus years) home. I assumed one of their adult children moved back. I assumed wrong.

They moved in the middle of the week, in the middle of the day, without telling anyone.

Unknown neighborhood dispute? Witness protection? Stalker?

Stairs. Stair. Stairs. They now present an insurmountable issue. Our former neighbors moved twenty minutes away to a single story home.

Fortunately, we’ve been invited to visit them. Glad to know we’re not the other kind of former neighbors.

The next day, while talking to one of my friends at the neighborhood grocery store, I didn’t examine the mushrooms I took from the display. I just shoved them in my sack.

“You will find only what you take with you.” ~ Yoda

When I prepped the mushrooms for our spaghetti sauce, guess what rolled out of the bag?

This is what happens when you can't let go.

True friendship.

This is what happens when you’re afraid to lose your neighbor who is your friend. The good news, our neighbors are selling their home to one of their daughters so we aren’t losing anything.

“Do. Or do not. There is no try.” ~ Yoda

Try. But I did try. And the conjoined mushrooms tasted great. Circle of life, my friends, circle of life.

About Fannie Cranium

Writing since she could first hold a pen, Tracy Perkins formed her alter ego, "Fannie Cranium" at the suggestion of her husband. Tracy understands smiling makes people wonder what she’s been up to.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Conjoined Mushrooms Or Great Neighbors?

  1. aplscruf says:

    Is your neighborhood some sort of English countryside wormhole? Residents passing down their homes to their family members…right outta Jane Austen!

    Like

    • I’m beginning to think we must be. They are the third family on the block to do so. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dave says:

        Wow! Wow wow wow! I’m preparing to move to my third place in three years (and fourth place in four), and after two years there, who knows where I’ll end up!

        Like

      • That’s a lot of moving. Phew. You must have packing down to art as well as science by now.

        I wonder if once you pass your boards, complete your residency, etc., if you will choose to live in one place.

        My mom moved every 18 mos to 2 years growing up. The longest she stayed in one place was ten years. After us kids moved out, she started moving every 2 years until she got too old to continue.

        Like

    • Dave says:

      I know, seriously! This is the kind of “American Dream” stuff that you rarely see in America, but is common in English literature.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know it’s amazing, but I live in small town Americana and some of us still hang out in our old neighborhoods even though I did move quite a bit in my youth. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

