A Special Edition—Spell of the Yukon

Snow, snow, snow. It’s December and it’s snowing on this blog. For this month only. Move your mouse around this blog and the direction of the snow moves with it. I’m such a kid. I love to play with snow, even if it’s virtual.

But that’s not all. The meteorologists are predicting snow this weekend in the foothill around my beloved Puget Sound in Washington State, U.S.A.. If it happens, it will be the first real snowfall in three years.

Considering snow made me think of two things. Country music legend from Canada, Hank Snow and Robert Service’s poem, Spell of the Yukon. And wouldn’t you know, Hank Snow did a rendition of Spell of the Yukon.

While I search for my boots, mittens, and scarf so I can make a snow angel (fingers crossed), enjoy this little performance from the words of the Bard of the North (Robert Service, not Hank Snow. Snow was the Singing Ranger).

For extra credit, since Hank Snow spent the last years of his life in Tennessee, here he is performing Robert Service’s, Cremation of Sam McGhee—who was from, you guessed it, Tennessee.

Enjoy your weekend. May it be merry wherever you are.

  *  *  *

Our thoughts and prayers to the families affected by the wild fires in Tennessee.

Fannie

About Fannie Cranium

Writing since she could first hold a pen, Tracy Perkins formed her alter ego, "Fannie Cranium" at the suggestion of her husband. Tracy understands smiling makes people wonder what she’s been up to.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Special Edition—Spell of the Yukon

  1. kerbey says:

    “Some say God was tired when He made it…” LOL. I’m enjoying these images so foreign to me, while I sit in sunlight. I love the snow on Word Press! I will have to live vicariously through you regarding snow angels, although I can imagine trying to get back up off the ground would require a helping hand. BTW, I thought sourdough was only bread? It’s in my fridge, and it has no songs. I don’t get it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • If we get any snow, I’ll post a photo of the snow angel after my better half hoists me off the ground. lol.

      Hank Snow did a speaking album, which was popular among some musical artist back in the 60’s and 70’s. That’s why there’s no songs in either rendition.

      Regarding the history of the Sourdough and the north. Early settlers brought sourdough starters with them when they traveled to the north for the gold rush. If they, the traveler, survived a winter in the far north, whether it was Canada or Alaska, they were proudly given the nickname “Sourdough” after the bread starter that survived with them. The tradition continues to this day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

