In Keeping with the Peculiar Theme this Week

I traveled to Finland last year. Part of that trip included a tour of their Parliament building in Helsinki. When we arrived for the tour, we discovered the building under wraps getting a facelift for their upcoming Centennial celebration.

Celebrating 100 years of government, under wraps.

Celebrating 100 years of sovereign government, under wraps.

The clever Fins wrapped the building to make it look like . . . the building, not a construction site. I think the cranes give it away.

On to the next oddity. My younger sister won a trip for two to New Zealand a few years ago. She invited me to go with her. Yea me. We landed on the northern island and spent some time in Hamilton.

If you don’t know Hamilton, you may have heard of something created there. Actor, writer Richard O’Brien, lived in Hamilton in his youth. While working at the local movie theater, he wrote the screen play for cult classic, “Rocky Horror Picture Show”.

We were in search of the statue of Riff Raff—the character O’Brien played in the movie, located on the site of the former cinema. Of course there’s a webcam to capture all the people visiting the statue, dancing the Time Warp.

On our way we discovered this gem, Mickey’s Lickies. I’m sure they build dining synergy with Pizza Hut and the Fish & Chips shop next door.

Satisfying hunger in New Zealand since . . . well I don't know.

Satisfying hunger in New Zealand since . . . well I don’t know.

If you’ve come across something peculiar this week, I’d love to hear about it.

Save

Save

Save

About Fannie Cranium

Writing since she could first hold a pen, Tracy Perkins formed her alter ego, "Fannie Cranium" at the suggestion of her husband. Tracy understands smiling makes people wonder what she’s been up to.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In Keeping with the Peculiar Theme this Week

  1. kerbey says:

    Are Lickies like vittles?

    Like

    • Apparently. Although I’m not the expert. I couldn’t help take the picture. Like a moth to the flame. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • aplscruf says:

        I was thinking Mickey’s Lickies might be more on the line of edible underwear…for mice. Similar to the Squirrel undies you so kindly gave me for our birthday gathering one year…!

        Like

      • LMAO (pardon my language).

        I like your interpretation of Mickey’s Lickies. Edible underwear for mice puts a whole new spin on the Magical World of . . .

        Doesn’t everyone need a pair of squirrel underwear for their birthday? Squirrel decency is important you know. 😉

        You do have my promise not to repeat the gift.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. aplscruf says:

    Oh yeah, here’s the link to your Squirrel Underpants blog, in case people didn’t believe me! https://fanniecranium.wordpress.com/2015/02/19/a-special-edition-boy-squirrel-vs-girl-squirrel-underpants/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Perhaps you’ve heard the old joke, “Where to Generals keep their Armies?”

      Answer: “Up their sleevies.”

      You never know what may be up my sleevey. But I doubt I’ll be able to top the Squirrel Underpants any time soon.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

