Crater Lake National Park

This week’s post is in celebration of National Park Week.

Last week I browsed through some old family photo albums. I discovered photographs taken by my mother and grandmother in the summer of 1940. The family vacationed in Oregon and ventured the remote drive to Crater Lake National Park.

My husband and I visited Crater Lake twice in 2016. One of my favorite places on the planet, because this placed played a pivotal role in the course of my own life.

The lake’s magnetism hasn’t changed much in the intervening 77 years unless you count the change-over from sepia to living color. However, nature changes it’s weather costume daily, sometime hourly.

Happy Earth Day everyone. Wherever you are on this lovely blue planet, enjoy.

Fannie

Save

Save

Save

About Fannie Cranium

Writing since she could first hold a pen, Tracy Perkins formed her alter ego, "Fannie Cranium" at the suggestion of her husband. Tracy understands smiling makes people wonder what she’s been up to.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crater Lake National Park

  1. Finding old photos is such a gift, especially when they’re marked with dates, places, and names. Or, sometimes you were there, but too little to remember all of the details. As the youngest of three children, five years younger than my brother, and 8 years younger than my sister, I remember very little; much as I do(n’t) now! But, after years of seeing disappointment on my mother’s face after I’ve said something like, “No, I don’t remember ‘that little restaurant’ in Kearney, Nebraska,” I’ve learned to answer, “Ah! Yes! I remember it well!” I DO remember that we stopped in Kearney, Nebraska on the first night of every road trip my family took heading west from Chicago in our station wagon, though! My father loved to drive 12 hours a day to get us to National Parks, which I absolutely remember because each one was so beautifully different from the next. I’ll never forget how gigantic Mount Rushmore was from my perspective, and the power of “Old Faithful,” to name a couple. We were so lucky that dad took a few weeks off so the 5 of us could have those great adventures together. The color photos you added of the same places shown in B&W is a very cool addition to a great story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Leslie! I know what you mean about not always remembering stopping at certain places. I like the way you handle it.

      I’m very familiar with the 12 hour drives to great destinations and the old motor inns that go with them. We stayed at a vintage motor court outside Mount Rushmore a few years back. The walls had enough paint layers to make an archeologist drool.

      Glad your family spent the time creating those memories with you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Liz says:

    Fantastic to have those old photographs!!!! And to have visited the same place so many years later. Great way to celebrate those Nat’l Parks and Earth Day 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

